Latest CSN Articles

From this point on, the Community Sport Network team will no longer be sending out articles.

It was established in August 2013 as a free to access news-line on all things happening in Community Sport. It was set up as a small contribution to the legacy of London 2012 which inspired us all and will live long in our memories.

Nearly five years down the track there are now a number of other respected sporting news offerings online, so we thank you for your readership and support which has extended to over 200 countries, and wish you all well in your ongoing efforts to help create a fitter, healthier sporting nation.

Thanks for being a part of it!

  • Comments: 0
  • in Paralympics
  • Visits: 367
  • Last Modified: 24 January 2017 04:48

Laura Kenny, Mo Farah and Andy Murray amongst nominees at Laureus Awards!

Four-time Olympic gold medallist Laura Kenny has been nominated for the 2017 Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year award.

She is one of six British nominations, with Andy Murray and Mo Farah nominated for World Sportsman of the Year.

Nick Skelton is nominated in the world comeback category and Leicester City in the breakthrough of the year category.

Four-time World Cup mountain bike champion Rachel Atherton in on the action sportsperson of the year list.

The winners, as voted for by members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, will be revealed in Monaco on 14 February.

Serena Williams and Novak Djokovic were named sportswoman and sportsman of the year at the 2016 awards.

Sportsman of the Year award nominees

Usain Bolt (Jamaica) athletics, Stephen Curry (US) basketball, Mo Farah (GB) athletics, LeBron James (US) basketball, Andy Murray (GB) tennis, Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) football.

Sportswoman of the Year award nominees

Simone Biles (US) gymnastics, Allyson Felix (US) athletics, Angelique Kerber (Germany) tennis, Katie Ledecky (US) swimming, Elaine Thompson (Jamaica) athletics, Laura Kenny (GB) cycling.

Comeback of the Year award nominees

Ruth Beitia (Spain) athletics, Michael Phelps (US) swimming, Juan Martin del Potro (Argentina) tennis, Fabienne St Louis (Mauritius) triathlon, Nick Skelton (GB) equestrian, Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway) skiing.

Team of the Year award nominees

Brazil men's Olympic football team, Cleveland Cavaliers (US) basketball, Chicago Cubs (US) baseball, Mercedes AMG Petronas (motor racing), Portugal (football), Real Madrid (football).

Breakthrough of the Year award nominees

Almaz Ayana (Ethiopia) athletics, Fiji rugby union sevens, Iceland football, Leicester City (England), football, Nico Rosberg (Germany) motor racing, Wayde van Niekerk (South Africa) athletics.

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability award nominees

Ihar Boki (Belarus) swimming, Sophie Pascoe (New Zealand) swimming, Omara Durand (Cuba) athletics, Siamand Rahman (Iran) weightlifting, Marcel Hug (Switzerland) athletics, Beatrice Vio (Italy) fencing.

Action Sportsperson of the Year award nominees

Rachel Atherton (GB) mountain biking, Pedro Barros (Brazil) skateboarding, John John Florence (US) surfing, Chloe Kim (US) snowboarding, Kelly Sildaru (Estonia) freestyle skiing, Tyler Wright (Australia) surfing.