Latest CSN Articles

From this point on, the Community Sport Network team will no longer be sending out articles.

It was established in August 2013 as a free to access news-line on all things happening in Community Sport. It was set up as a small contribution to the legacy of London 2012 which inspired us all and will live long in our memories.

Nearly five years down the track there are now a number of other respected sporting news offerings online, so we thank you for your readership and support which has extended to over 200 countries, and wish you all well in your ongoing efforts to help create a fitter, healthier sporting nation.

Thanks for being a part of it!

  • Comments: 0
  • in Local
  • Visits: 726
  • Last Modified: -/-

Mo Farah & Kadeena Cox win big at the British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards

Gold medal winning Paralympian Kadeena Cox and Sir Mo Farah were awarded the top gongs at the British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards (BEDSA) 2017.

Cox – who won a gold, silver and bronze for athletics during Rio 2016 – was named as Sportswoman of the Year, while Farah took home the Sportsman of the Year award.

The pair were awarded during the ceremony on 18th March, in which 2003 Rugby World Cup winner Jason Robinson received the Lifetime Achievement award.

Cox said she was "honoured”, while Farah added that it was "great” to celebrate the "incredible achievements of our diverse sporting communities”.

Elsewhere, Brighton and Hove Albion manager Chris Hughton was named Coach of the Year.

Professional kickboxer Ruqsana Begum and Paralympian swimmer Alice Tai won the UK Sport Inspirational Performance Award and the Youth Sport Trust Young Sportsperson of the Year award respectively.

Heavyweight boxer David Haye also led a special tribute to the late Muhammed Ali.

Arun Kang, chief executive of Sporting Equals, the organisation that organises BEDSA, said: "It was heartwarming to see the delighted faces of the community groups and volunteers who give so much of their time to get communities more active as well as the elite stars who will hopefully inspire the next generation to take the baton.”