Latest CSN Articles

From this point on, the Community Sport Network team will no longer be sending out articles.

It was established in August 2013 as a free to access news-line on all things happening in Community Sport. It was set up as a small contribution to the legacy of London 2012 which inspired us all and will live long in our memories.

Nearly five years down the track there are now a number of other respected sporting news offerings online, so we thank you for your readership and support which has extended to over 200 countries, and wish you all well in your ongoing efforts to help create a fitter, healthier sporting nation.

Thanks for being a part of it!

  • Comments: 0
  • 11 November 2013 00:00
  • in Community
  • Visits: 10161
  • Last Modified: 18 November 2013 10:57
  • (Current Rating 5.0/5 Stars) Total Votes: 30

Shortlist revealed for 2013 Sportswoman of the Year Awards

0 0
The shortlist for the 2013 Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswomen of the Year Awards has been unveiled with 400 metre world champion Christine Ohuruogu, cycling star Becky James and dressage rider Charlotte Dujardin included on the six person shortlist.

Ohuruogu won her second gold medal at the 2013 World Athletics Championships in Moscow six years after winning her first while James won four medals at 2013 Track Cycling World Championships in Minsk and Jujardin followed double Olympic gold with three European Championship medals.

The trio are joined on the shortlist by bob skeleton star Shelley Rudman who created winter sports became the first British a world title in the sport, the leading run scorer in the England women’s cricket team Heather Knight and world triathlon champion Non Stanford. 

The awards, to be broadcast live for the first time in their 26-year history from the Sky Studios in London on December 5, will also pay tribute to a Team of the Year, a Young Sportswoman of the Year, a Disability Sportswoman of the Year and a Community Award winner.

The Team of the Year shortlist features the Ashes-winning England cricket team, the hugely successful England Netball team who are unbeaten in 2013, the British Team Pursuit Cycling squad of Laura Trott, Dani King and Elinor Barker who defended their 3km title in Belarus and Europe's Solheim Cup golf team that secured a maiden win on American soil.

The Young Sportswoman of the Year shortlist features golfer Charley Hull after she helped Europe secure victory in the Solheim Cup, heptathlete Katarina Johnson-Thompson who won gold at the European Athletics U23 Championships, 17-year-old sprinter Dina Asher-Smith who claimed a double European U23 triumph and cyclist James once again. 

Meanwhile the Disability Sportswoman of the Year features wheelchair racing star Hannah Cockroft after she completed a third unbeaten year where she retained both her world titles, sprinter Sophie Hahn who won gold in the 100 metres at the World Champions in a world record time and the swimming duo Ellie Simmonds and Amy Marren who both starred at the World Championships in Montreal. 

Finally the Community Award features four females who have made a huge contribution to grasssroots sport in the UK and they are Rimla Akhtar, Karen Edwards, Brenda Prescott and Ros Spearing.

There will be two further prizes with The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration set to honor one individual's inspirational endeavour and a special Lifetime Achievement Award to recognise enduring sporting success.

A nine-strong judging panel that includes Sky Sports managing director Barney Francis and Sport England director Tanya Joseph compiled the shortlists after a public call for nominations.

The awards are supported by the Sport and Recreation Alliance, UK Sport, Sport England and the Women’s Sport and Fitness Foundation.

Votes for Team of the Year can be cast by the public.

To cast a vote, Click Here

Sportswoman of the Year

Charlotte Dujardin
Becky James
Heather Knight
Christine Ohuruogu
Shelley Rudman
Non Stanford

Young Sportswoman of the Year

Dina Asher-Smith
Charley Hull
Becky James
Katarina Johnson-Thompson

Team of the Year

England Cricket team
England Netball team
Europe's Solheim Cup team
Team Pursuit Cycling squad

Disability Sportswoman of the Year

Hannah Cockroft
Sophie Hahn
Amy Marren
Eleanor Simmonds

Community Award

Rimla Akhtar
Karen Edwards
Brenda Prescott
Ros Spearing

  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Technorati
  • Reddit
  • Yahoo Buzz
  • StumbleUpon

No Comments Yet...

Leave a reply

Name: Required Field.
Email Address: Required Field. Not visible
Captcha Code: Required Field.
Comment: Required Field.